Author Topic: Unavailable agents showing up under realtime  (Read 4698 times)

hsanchez

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Email
Unavailable agents showing up under realtime
« on: May 22, 2010, 01:23:12 »
We've recently switched to dynamic agents and we've noticed that sometimes QM thinks some Unavailable agents are still logged in.  They show up under realtime as ready agents, and running reports counts them like they were logged in the entire time (which is really messing with the center's weekly reports).

I've done some detective work, and it looks like QM assumes an agent is logged on if there's any activity in the queue_log that concerns this agent, for example:

- Agent logs off (AGENTLOGOFF)
- Agent disappears from realtime (as it should)
- Agent is added/removed from a queue (ADDMEMBER/REMOVEMEMBER) while the agent is logged off.  This is what I think is messing with QM.
- Realtime and reports now believe the agent is logged on.

Is there a workaround for this? I would really really really like not to have to go back to static agents just because of this.


On an unrelated note, I'd love to see 2 new features:

1.  QM has an AddMember option, I would love to be able to do two things with it:
- Set a priority, ideally a drop down with customizable names (like 1. Immediate, 2. 1 minute) my users are not the brightest and having a number would confuse them to no end.
- Have access control to this, only supervisors/managers should be able to move people around.

That way I wouldn't need a separate webapp just to move people around queues :D


2.  We use ldap authentication, but currently agents have 2 logins (Agent/XXXX and ldap).  They use the agent one to monitor their inbound calls, but to run reports and do pretty much everything else they use the ldap one.

My suggestion is to have some agent - ldap mapping, so they can login use their ldap login to monitor their inbound calls.  I know it can easily be done the other way around (get rid of the ldap one), but for business reasons we can't do this.  Something like adding an "agent" field to the users table would be more just fine.  I'm probably the only person on earth who would find this useful, but it seems like it would be trivial to implement.

hsanchez

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Unavailable agents showing up under realtime
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2010, 00:29:19 »
I've done a bit more detective work...

- Adding AGENTLOGOFF / AGENTCALLBACKLOGOFF entries to the queue log doesn't seem to fix this.  I even had the agent log on and back off (now I'm not 100% sure what's causing this)
- The only stat that's off on reports is Agent Availability, everything else looks ok so far.

QueueMetrics

  • Loway
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2993
  • Karma: 39
    • View Profile
    • QueueMetrics
Re: Unavailable agents showing up under realtime
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2010, 09:45:21 »
What you say it's true - but if you get a call from a queue that you disconnected to, QM assumes that the logion must have been lost -- you cannot receive calls from queues you are not logged on to! how is that it causes you problems?


I am not sure about the drop down, would you like to post two separate topics in the "Ideas" forum?


hsanchez

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Unavailable agents showing up under realtime
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2010, 16:57:52 »
Well, all calls continue working correctly... the only broken thing is QM now thinks the agent is logged on which messes up 2 things:
- Realtime view: supervisors think there's more ready agents than there really are... bad for me because they think the phone system is broken  :(
- Agent availability reports: bad for agents as it looks like they were sitting around doing nothing for hours

Is there a temporary workaround to make QM "see" the agent logged off again? I tried a bunch of things and I couldn't convince QM that the agent was logged off.  This seems to fix itself by the next morning, but if somebody else is switched around queues while logged off then we're back to square 1.


P.S. I've created 2 new topics under ideas.

QueueMetrics

  • Loway
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2993
  • Karma: 39
    • View Profile
    • QueueMetrics
Re: Unavailable agents showing up under realtime
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2010, 14:13:11 »
The problem is that it is not expected to happen. If it happens there is something strange....


hsanchez

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Unavailable agents showing up under realtime
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2010, 00:06:41 »
I've done some changes to my app to prevent changing status of offline agents.  Hopefully this fixes things.

It'd still be nice to have QM deal with this in the future though  ;D

QueueMetrics

  • Loway
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2993
  • Karma: 39
    • View Profile
    • QueueMetrics
Re: Unavailable agents showing up under realtime
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2010, 07:59:42 »
I am not sure this is possible, because it is a part of our "safety net" against accidental queue_log corruption.

hsanchez

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Unavailable agents showing up under realtime
« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2010, 17:51:22 »
oh well, thanks for the help anyway :)